Watch live: Progress resupply craft set for launch in Kazakhstan

Roscosmos Webcast

NASA TV in English

A Russian Progress freighter loaded with supplies, water and fuel is counting down to liftoff Friday from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan on a two-day trek to the International Space Station.

Liftoff from Launch Pad No. 1 at Baikonur, the same departure point used by Yuri Gagarin on the first human space mission in 1961, is scheduled for 1814:08 GMT (1:14:08 p.m. EST) Friday on top of a Soyuz rocket.

NASA TV coverage of the launch is scheduled to begin at 1800 GMT (1 p.m. EST).

The Soyuz launcher will fly in the Soyuz-FG configuration, the same variant of Russian’s most famous rocket used for liftoffs with crews heading for the space station.

Friday’s launch will be the fourth Soyuz launch since a booster failure forced a Russian cosmonaut and a NASA astronaut to abort their launch to the space station Oct. 11, but the first flight since then to use the Soyuz-FG version.

If the Progress resupply launch goes well, the Russian space agency is expected to give the green light for the next station crew launch Dec. 3.

The Progress MS-10 supply ship is scheduled to dock with the space station’s Zvezda service module around 1930 GMT (2:30 p.m. EST) Sunday.

Email the author.

Follow Stephen Clark on Twitter: @StephenClark1.

About the author

Leave a Reply